Skip to content
Held in Canada

Office suites

Does Nextcloud store data in Canada?

Self-hosted files, office (with Collabora or ONLYOFFICE), talk, calendar

If you host it yourself.

Nextcloud can run on servers you choose. Data stays in Canada only if you host it in Canada. It is owned in Germany, not Canada or the US.

Self-hosted: Run it yourselfSoftware you install on servers you choose. The vendor never holds your data.

Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
Wherever you or your hosting partner run it. Nextcloud GmbH does not host customer data itself
Where it is processed
Wherever you run it
Support and backups
Not stated on the pages read
Owner
Nextcloud GmbH (Stuttgart, Germany) · Parent country: Germany
Servers run by
You choose: own servers, or a hosting partner · Owner not stated
Customer-held keys
You hold the keys when self-hosted
Certifications
Not recorded (blank means not checked, not none)
Worth knowing
Open source. Run on Canadian-owned infrastructure, it gives full possession of the data, which is what OCAP asks for.
Caveats
Nextcloud GmbH sells software and support; hosting is by the customer or partners.

What the rules say about this

  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
  • Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
  • OCAP®: Self-hosting on Nation-controlled or Canadian-owned infrastructure is the route to possession.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to Nextcloud

Other office suites listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Alternatives to Nextcloud
ListingTierStored in Canada?OwnerServers run by
Zoho WorkplaceTier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaYesIndiaOwner not stated
LibreOfficeSelf-hosted: Run it yourselfIf you host it yourselfGermanyNot a US company

Sources

All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing