Skip to content
Held in Canada

Databases

Does Aiven store data in Canada?

Managed Postgres, MySQL, Kafka, OpenSearch and others

Yes, if you choose it.

Aiven offers Canadian storage, but you have to choose it, and it may depend on your plan. It is owned in Finland, not Canada or the US.

Tier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaOwned outside Canada and the United States, with data stored in Canada.

Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
OVHcloud Beauharnois; AWS Canada Central; Azure Canada Central and Canada East; DigitalOcean Toronto; Google Montréal and Toronto; Oracle Montréal and Toronto
Where it is processed
Where you deploy the service
Support and backups
Not stated on the pages read
Owner
Aiven Oy (Helsinki, Finland) · Parent country: Finland
Servers run by
Runs on the cloud you choose, including OVHcloud (non-US) in Beauharnois · Owner not stated
Customer-held keys
Not recorded
Certifications
Not recorded (blank means not checked, not none)
Worth knowing
Finnish-owned and can run on OVHcloud in Québec, so it is the one managed-database route here with no US company in the chain. Pick the OVH region to get that.
Caveats
us_infra depends on the region chosen: OVHcloud regions are non-US, while AWS, Azure, Google, DigitalOcean and Oracle regions are US-owned clouds.

What the rules say about this

  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
  • Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
  • OCAP®: Data held by any outside vendor is not in the Nation's possession, whoever owns the vendor.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to Aiven

Other databases listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Alternatives to Aiven
ListingTierStored in Canada?OwnerServers run by
MapleDeploy databasesTier 1: Canadian end to endYesCanadianNot a US company

Sources

All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing