Skip to content
Held in Canada

Password managers

Does Devolutions store data in Canada?

Devolutions Password Manager: Devolutions Server (self-hosted) or Devolutions Hub (cloud)

If you host it yourself.

Devolutions can run on servers you choose. Data stays in Canada only if you host it in Canada. It is Canadian-owned.

Self-hosted: Run it yourselfSoftware you install on servers you choose. The vendor never holds your data.

Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
Devolutions Server runs on your own infrastructure. Devolutions Hub (cloud) is hosted on Microsoft Azure in a region chosen at setup; Canada was not confirmed on the pages read
Where it is processed
Wherever you run Devolutions Server
Support and backups
Not stated on the pages read
Owner
Devolutions ("proudly founded in Québec, Canada") · Parent country: Canada
Servers run by
Self-hosted (Server) or Microsoft Azure (Hub) · Owner not stated
Customer-held keys
You hold the data when self-hosted
Certifications
Not recorded (blank means not checked, not none)
Worth knowing
Canadian-owned and can be run entirely on your own servers, which avoids any vendor cloud.

What the rules say about this

  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
  • Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
  • OCAP®: Self-hosting on Nation-controlled or Canadian-owned infrastructure is the route to possession.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to Devolutions

Other password managers listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Alternatives to Devolutions
ListingTierStored in Canada?OwnerServers run by
1PasswordTier 2: Canadian-owned, data in CanadaYes, if you choose itCanadianUS company
BitwardenSelf-hosted: Run it yourselfIf you host it yourselfUSUS company

Sources

All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing