Skip to content
Held in Canada

Accounting

Does Sage 50 (cloud-hosted) store data in Canada?

Sage 50 Cloud hosted environment (Canada)

Yes.

For Canadian customers, Sage 50 (cloud-hosted) stores data in Canada. It is owned in United Kingdom, not Canada or the US.

Tier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaOwned outside Canada and the United States, with data stored in Canada.

Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
Microsoft Azure data centres in Canada, with daily automatic backups
Where it is processed
Canada
Support and backups
Daily backups (Sage)
Owner
The Sage Group plc (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) · Parent country: United Kingdom
Servers run by
Microsoft Azure Canada · US company
Customer-held keys
Not recorded
Certifications
Not recorded (blank means not checked, not none)
Worth knowing
The desktop edition keeps data on your own computer; the hosted edition runs on Azure in Canada.
Caveats
Sage Accounting (the separate online product) does not state a data location.

What the rules say about this

  • US CLOUD Act: The owner is not American, but a US company runs the servers underneath.
  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
  • Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
  • OCAP®: Data held by any outside vendor is not in the Nation's possession, whoever owns the vendor.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to Sage 50 (cloud-hosted)

Other accounting listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Alternatives to Sage 50 (cloud-hosted)
ListingTierStored in Canada?OwnerServers run by
Sage IntacctTier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaYes, if you choose itUnited KingdomUS company
Zoho BooksTier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaYesIndiaOwner not stated

Sources

All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing