Accounting
Does Sage Intacct store data in Canada?
Sage Intacct (mid-market financials)
Yes, if you choose it.
Sage Intacct offers Canadian storage, but you have to choose it, and it may depend on your plan. It is owned in United Kingdom, not Canada or the US.
Tier 3: Not US-owned, data in CanadaOwned outside Canada and the United States, with data stored in Canada.
Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.
The facts, claim by claim
- Where data is stored
- AWS Canada (Central) region in Montréal (since 2021)
- Where it is processed
- Canada
- Support and backups
- Not stated on the pages read
- Owner
- The Sage Group plc (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) · Parent country: United Kingdom
- Servers run by
- Amazon Web Services Canada (Central) · US company
- Customer-held keys
- Not recorded
- Certifications
- Not recorded (blank means not checked, not none)
What the rules say about this
- US CLOUD Act: The owner is not American, but a US company runs the servers underneath.
- Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
- Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
- OCAP®: Data held by any outside vendor is not in the Nation's possession, whoever owns the vendor.
Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.
Canadian alternatives to Sage Intacct
Other accounting listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.
| Listing | Tier | Stored in Canada? | Owner | Servers run by |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sage 50 (cloud-hosted) | Tier 3: Not US-owned, data in Canada | Yes | United Kingdom | US company |
| Zoho Books | Tier 3: Not US-owned, data in Canada | Yes | India | Owner not stated |
Sources
All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.