Skip to content
Held in Canada

AI models and APIs

Does TELUS Sovereign AI Factory store data in Canada?

GPU compute and AI platform hosted in Canada

Yes.

For Canadian customers, TELUS Sovereign AI Factory stores data in Canada. It is Canadian-owned.

Tier 1: Canadian end to endCanadian-owned, data stored in Canada, and no US company running the infrastructure underneath.

Checked 2026-10-13 against the vendor's own pages.

The facts, claim by claim

Where data is stored
Rimouski, Québec (Tier III data centre); expansion planned in Kamloops, BC
Where it is processed
Canada: 100% of compute and storage stays in Canada (TELUS)
Support and backups
No replication to the US or other jurisdictions; 24/7 management and support by onshore Canadian teams (TELUS)
Owner
TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS Corporation) · Parent country: Canada
Servers run by
TELUS-owned or capital-leased hardware · Not a US company
Customer-held keys
Not recorded
Certifications
TELUS says additional certifications are in progress
Worth knowing
Fully sold out at Rimouski in 2026 (TELUS). TELUS states it is not subject to the US CLOUD Act; this directory records the ownership chain and does not assess that claim.

What the rules say about this

  • Nova Scotia public bodies: Storage and access must both be in Canada: check support access and backups, not only storage.
  • Québec Law 25: Canada is not Québec: storage in Toronto still needs a privacy impact assessment for Québec data.
  • OCAP®: Data held by any outside vendor is not in the Nation's possession, whoever owns the vendor.

Summaries only; each rule page links the law or regulator. Not legal advice.

Canadian alternatives to TELUS Sovereign AI Factory

Other ai models and apis listings that are Canadian-owned, not US-owned, or self-hostable.

Alternatives to TELUS Sovereign AI Factory
ListingTierStored in Canada?OwnerServers run by
Bell AI FabricTier 2: Canadian-owned, data in CanadaYesCanadianOwner not stated
CohereSelf-hosted: Run it yourselfIf you host it yourselfCanadianOwner not stated

Sources

All checked 2026-10-13. Claims about storage and ownership rest on the vendor's own pages (or its parent's); supporting links can include regulators and program lists.

Report a correction to this listing